top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrimmy

"The Heir of Ash and Fire"


I've taken my time with this book. Probably my least favorite (Please don't hate me) in the entire series so far. It was sort of skew and boring, until Rowan showed up. When they trained I was just laughing so loudly because all Emrys hears is just Rowan's and Aelin's argument. Huh. The good times.

We all have different opinions that maybe this is their favorite book of the series simply because this shows a lot of Celaena's inner demons and how she conquers them. And I agree, but I hate how it got me to the slow side of reading it. Rowan made this book humorous, even if he was kind of a prick in the first few moments Aelin and him meet. Slowly, however, their relationship develops.

I just knew he had to be the one for her. She loved Sam. Loved Dorian. And loved Chaol. (I also forgot to mention that he did bring her chocolate cake... Girls out there would want their man to give them chocolate cake, too... I still hate him, though.)

In addition to that, let me just say that, "'Chaol was too stunned to do anything.'" Quote pretty much explains what he was like for the rest of this book.

Also, Dorian. I will always and forever add him on every book review of this series. I just love him so much that I actually shipped him with Sorscha. But at the end of the book... I was so naive. I should've known better than to grow attach to the healer who was most likely to get killed by The King of Adarlan. I should've known! *cries*

He also FINALLY stood up to his best friend. He, who took in the jealousy and accepted rejection, unlike Chaol, who's so stupid that Dorian had to tell him that he doesn't get to choose what parts of her to love! This is utterly true! AMEN, DORIAN!

Rowan's friendship with Aelin brought me to the theory that they were meant for each other, Both of them see themselves in each other, they're just... PERFECT! Even though there might not be a romantic scene (and I don't include Sorscha and Dorian) in this book, their friendship prevails. I can't stop rooting for the heroine that brought me to love her witty, sarcastic, bitchy character.

As for Manon Blackbeak, my other QUEEN, has allowed to relate to her in a personal level. She'd be the kind of character who is capable of being cruel and merciless, but she could also be capable of questioning her feelings and beliefs when she meets someone so good that it will change her. Other than that, she's my favorite badass character.

And, just like in any other review of the Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas has broken my heart, healed it, and made me believe in hope. I just hope my heart isn't broken for the next ride she offers.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page