top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrimmy

The Heck?!!?!


My class had to annotate the story with our clock partners, yet a small few of us, including me, had to do it for homework because we didn't finish reading it, let alone annotating it.

This follows a man named Mr. Johnson, and, when you first see his appearance you get this optimistic vibe from Jackson with her magnificent writing style. However, from the time I read it, I grew suspicious of the man.

Why would you guys like him? I mean, dude.

NO ONE IS THAT FREAKING NICE.

We all know there are fake people in the world that the ending depicted the perfect image of it. The conflict I've come to gather is... Man vs. Society?

I decided to annotate, "Appearance vs. Society," which is pretty dang accurate since people are being deceived by his personality. Even the audience had concluded that this is just a nice guy going through different routes, lives alone, and loves to help people---- WELL THAT AIN'T THE CASE IN THIS STORY. I've grabbed a short example and inserted in the Quote Of The Day 2 for the sole purpose that the way Jackson executed Johnson's "dreamer/optimistic" feature to his character really manipulated my mind into thinking it.

Even his wife (HE HAS A WIFE!!?) had a role. Nearly at the end of the story she explains how she's been mean, and, considering that she did these things, Mr. Johnson merely says, "Fine."

This terrible reaction made me feel the need to say, "I told you so," in all of my classmates' faces. They actually wanted to be his friend--- Well, not me. I don't want to get mixed up with his evil version.

The theme I so far noticed up to this point is the fact that people aren't always what they seem. In addition to that, a theme I also observed is that humans are really capable of being both good and bad.

"'...Want to change over tomorrow?'" This had been the evidence. AND I KNEW THAT HE FELT LIKE PLAYING GOD WHEN HE WAS DOING HIS ACT OF KINDNESS.

Although I've already reviewed what I wanted to say, I felt like the part where---- OH CRAP.

I just realized something. When you think about it...

Mr. Johnson fed the pigeons, which was absolutely significant to the story, because if it wasn't why would Jackson insert it there in the first place? In this act, you can see the birds flying to the peanuts, and those peanuts, represented Mr. Johnson's acts of kindness, the birds being the people Mr. Johnson met with his goody-goody attitude. The birds seemed to want more of the peanuts, in such a way that those people loved more of Johnson's kindness.

Remember, people are not always as they appear to be.

37 views0 comments
bottom of page