top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrimmy

Let's Go Rattle The Stars! (Spoilers Ahead; Proceed With Caution)

Sunday, January 21, 2018


In this thrilling debut novel, Sarah J. Maas manipulates your mind, makes your heart drum, and never stops to disappoint in each chapter.

   Her writing style gripped me with so much excitement, you wouldn't believe how many times I had to bite back my screams and squeals. She has poured so much creativity in this book and I feel really alive in the world she'd constructed. 

   This had been one heck of a ride, especially with Celaena Sardothien's character and appearance, which would create another ambiance, an otherworldly atmosphere that will make you think if she had everything planned from the very beginning. 

   When she unveils the strangest secrets that linger in the glass castle of Adarlan, it actually kind of bummed me, because that's what it was described in the summary. As well as Chaol's and Dorian's love for her. That twist would've been surprising, however, Maas manages to surprise me in the end.

   With her writing style, I doubt that anyone wouldn't be. 

   As for the Crown Prince of Adarlan, my favorite character, Dorian Havilliard is someone I want to exist in real life. It isn't always you get a handsome man--- with eyes of blue, sensuous curved lips, and dark raven hair---reading in a public library. From the moment he smiled, he had been my favorite, capturing my attention (as well as my heart) even when he'd given Fleetfoot to Celaena!!! (A man who gives a girl a puppy is deserving of a very wonderful woman). 

   But... as it turns out, he got rejected.

   Of course.

   After all, this isn't just your ordinary retelling of the Cinderella story. This novel was out of this world, and experiencing to live in it had been a pleasure.

   With unexpected turns and chapters, this book left me with a sensation of intrigue. It was THAT good, I would've devoured the story in one night.

    I knew that Cain was the killer, but that wasn't my thought anymore when Maas' writing style drew me to a different theory in my head. But I'd been right when she revealed that it WAS Cain (WHAT THE PHU?! How?!) 

   She nailed it. The story left me wanting the entire series.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page