top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrimmy

FORGIVENESS DOESN'T EXCUSE CHAOL'S BEHAVIOR

Okay. Let's just get to the point where I say that I absolutely HATE Chaol. Screw him. I miss Nehemia, and my heart broke when she actually brought death upon herself on purpose, and could Dorian be any more interesting even as I sympathize for his character. Again, another installment in her series that never ceases to disappoint me. Sarah J. Maas has a way of making her world so structured that I'm absorbed in it. Like I want to be in her world.

This time, although, after reading this AMAZING read, she makes me Chaol that I could bring myself to stab him, in a way that Celaena lunged for his heart. HE FREAKING KNEW. HE WORKED FOR A FREAKING TYRANT. WHY WOULD HIS LOYALTIES LIE ON HIM?!

For a lover, he's pretty shitty. Chaol deserved to be abandoned. He didn't deserve Celaena's love. SHE. DESERVES. BETTER.

I hope someday he realizes that even if he knew that she was fae. I blame him for her friend's death. Nehemia had been the only female companion ever since Ansel, from Assassin's Blade (Imma review that, too).

As for Dorian, the one who actually knows better than his friend, I feel the panic he's feeling, since magic is outlawed in Adarlan. However, to know that a father would kill his son for merely that... Unspeakable. I hope he dies. TAKE HIM OUT.

And, finally, Celaena, my precious heroine, my QUEEN. You could just feel her wrath and her weighty grief upon her shoulders, in her chest. As she sings a song for Nehemia, even as her throat burns with her sobbing, it pains me so much that losing a friend like her is able to affect me. Even though the book was merely created fiction. Sarah J. Maas wrecked me so much, and this is just the second book, and I'm like hollow inside.

Sarah J. Maas's world is so expansive, the scenes are turning sexy, Celaena is turning badass as she goes, the conversations, as always, have the flavor of sassy in them, and lastly, Maas's writing style leaves me intrigued, drooling for her third installment of the series.


10 views0 comments
bottom of page